# Resolve Merge Conflicts > Learn how to resolve merge conflicts in Development workspace when updating from a remote branch ## Introduction :::tip You should know A **merge conflict** arises when two Analysts make changes in the same line in a file, or one Analyst deletes a file but another Analyst makes edits in the same file. ::: Merge conflicts are bound to happen when you pull changes from other branches. Should this happen, Holistics will use the standard Git syntax [conflict markers](https://git-scm.com/docs/gitattributes#Documentation/gitattributes.txt-text) to display conflicts during merging. The merge cannot be executed automatically because **Git** cannot determine which changes to keep, so you will need to resolve the conflicts manually. ## How to resolve merge conflicts
1. **Navigate to the conflicted files**: - Click on the "Show Conflicts" button to see the list of conflicted files - You can jump to each file from this list 2. **Quickly choose which version you want to keep for a file** - Upon arriving at a conflicted file, you will open the **Quick resolve** option by default - From here, you can choose to keep your version or the incoming version for this file - Click Resolve, and Confirm to finish resolving the file 3. **Manually resolve the conflict for a file** - Aside from the **Quick resolve** option, you can always switch to the **Manual resolve** option to work in the code editor - Click Resolve, and Confirm to finish resolving the file 4. **Quickly choose which version you want to keep for all files** - From the "Show Conflicts" button, click on the "Resolve all" button - Then, choose to apply either your version, or the incoming version for all files. - Confirm to finish